We’re Down to One Hand

I leave China in four days. So. Many. Emotionsss.

This, of course, begs the question– what will I miss? (Obvs I’ll be able to answer this more accurately after I leave, but here are some predictions. More accurately, this is a list of what makes China uniquely China.)

I’ll miss the little kids who blatantly stare and point and YELL ‘Měiguó!’

I’ll miss riding my bike like a boss.

I’ll miss H&M #obvs.

I’ll miss the completely unexpected encounters with strangers who want to practice their English.

I’ll miss the smell of funk that is uniquely China #indescribable.

I’ll miss the chicken palace explosion dish.

I’ll miss the clothes designed with the motto ‘More is better.’ #blingtastic

I’ll miss, more than anything, the friends I’ve made here. Can’t wait to visit Janada!

The past few days I’ve felt apprehensive about going back to America, similar to how I felt before I came to China. I realized I’ve become comfortable here; even though I can’t speak Mandarin well, I’ve got a gist of what’s going on.

I’m expecting a heavy dose of reverse culture shock- I’ve essentially been off the planet in terms of pop culture, news, and communication. After Wales I felt lost when I returned, so I know it’s going to be even worse this go round.

Here’s what I know about world outside the Great Firewall of China from the last 5 months: Beyonce is preggo #thanksSon. There were several earthquakes in OK. FB changed its layout somehow. Ashton and Demi are no longer an item. Greece is in bankruptcy? Oh, and there’s going to be another Wizarding World Park built in California. Sounds like I’ve got some catching up to do.

Anything else I need to know about?

2 responses

  1. Come back and go through the process…we are excited to have you back. We have enjoyed your blog and the deep insight into your experiences. You are missed here.

Leave a Reply

